My Fairy-Tale Mixtape

When I saw Inkgypsy’s Once Upon a Time blog on fairy-tale mixtapes (inspired by Adam’s fantastic take on Andrew Lang), could I resist? Of course, the problem is that I could easily have listed all d’Aulnoy’s tales, but I have tried to restrain myself to a few key favourites. I’m sure I’d reorder this and swap out tales, but I do have a pile of grading to sort through, so I think this will have to be a ‘quickie’! I’ve also included films and novels, because I don’t see why there’s a reason to be restrictive when it comes to fairy tales!

cendrillon

  1. Finette Cendron, Marie-Catherine d’Aulnoy
  2. Viola, Giambattista Basile
  3. The Devil and Gasparino, Giovan Francesco Straparola
  4. The Princess Bride, William Goldman
  5. The Discreet Princess; or The Adventures of Finette, Marie-Jeanne Lhéritier
  6. Pretty as a Picture, Giambattista Basile*
  7. Riquet with the Tuft, Catherine Bernard
  8. How The Milkmaid Struck a Bargain with the Crooked One, C S E Cooney
  9. The Duke of Wellington Misplaces His Horse, Susanna Clarke
  10. The Savage, Henriette Julie de Murat
  11. Labyrinth, Jim Henson
  12. The White Doe, Marie-Catherine d’Aulnoy
  13. Peau d’Âne, Jacques Demy
  14. The Pig King, Henriette Julie de Murat
  15. The Green Serpent, Marie-Catherine d’Aulnoy
  16. Witches Abroad, Terry Pratchett
  17. Mandosiane in Captivity, Jean Lorrain
  18. The Old Woman’s Hide, Italo Calvino
  19. The Cave of the Golden Rose, Lamberto Bava
  20. Constanza/Constanzo, Giovan Francesco Straparola
  21. Puss-in-Boots, Angela Carter

You might notice the lack of Grimms. What can I say?

 

*Just today I was reading a blog post about a Medieval tale of a woman who sort comfort with her own model of Sir Gawain, which immediately made me think of this tale.

2 thoughts on “My Fairy-Tale Mixtape

  1. It’s interesting to see this idea coming back into the world. Sometimes I throw these things out there and you never know if they’ll come back to you. I’m glad to see it has. Though, now that I see you adding novels into the mix, I’ve got the incredible urge to drop all of Carlo Collodi’s Pinocchio right into my now modest list of ten.

  2. Pingback: The Green Fairy Book (a personal mixtape) |

Leave a Reply

